Tuition and Costs Apply Now

World Languages and Cultures Faculty

Photo Julia Centurión Morton
Chair, Department of World Languages and Cultures
Associate Professor of Spanish
Office: Flory Hall 213
540-828-5348
jmorton@bridgewater.edu
Personal Website
B.A., San Diego State University
M.A., Ph.D., Georgetown University
Teaching Fields: Spanish Language and Conversation, Latin American Culture and Literature, Hispanic Women Writers, Hispanics in the U.S. , Creative Writing, and Spanish Cultures of the World
Special Interests: Andean Literature and Art, Oral Tradition, Latin American Women Writers, and International Cinema
Advisor: Amigos Unidos Program
Photo Cristina Ciudin
Adjunct Instructor of World Languages and Cultures - French and German
Office: Flory 207
540-828-5374
cciudin@bridgewater.edu
Photo Valerie Dinger
Instructor of Spanish
Office: Flory 216A
540-515-3793
vdinger@bridgewater.edu
B.A.,Franklin and Marshall College
M.A., Middlebury College
Teaching Fields: Grammar and Culture through intermediate level;honors
Photo Mahan Ellison
Assistant Professor of World Languages and Cultures
mellison@bridgewater.edu
Office: Flory 211
540-828-5372
Personal Website
B.A., Furman University
M.A., Ph.D., University of Kentucky
Teaching Fields: 19th/20th Century Novel; Hispano-African Literatures; 19th/20th Century Peninsular Literature; Spanish as a World Language; Composition; Spanish Language & Conversation
Special Interests: Travel Writing, War Literature, Modernity, Writing Pedagogy
Advisor: Spanish Club
Photo Charles Paul Fleis
Associate Professor of French and Spanish
Office: Flory 218
540-830-5373
cfleis@bridgewater.edu
Personal Website
B.A., M.A., Western Michigan University
D.M.L., Middlebury College
Teaching Fields: Peninsular Literature; Peninsular Cultures; 19th/20th Century Spanish Literature; Hispanic Cinema; French Cinema; 19th/20th Century French Literature; Francophone Literature; Spanish Conversation; French Conversation.
Special Interests: Cinema; Theatre; Pedro Almodóvar; Issues of Diversity
Advisor: French & Spanish Majors/Minors; French Club; BC Allies; Men's Soccer Academic Liaison
Photo Bahar Mikael
Adjunct Instructor of World Languages and Cultures - Arabic
Office: Flory 207
540-828-5374
bmikael@bridgewater.edu
Photo Victor Oliver
Instructor of Spanish
Office: Flory 212
540-828-8007
voliver@bridgewater.edu
Personal Website
Bachelor's degree: Universidad Jose Maria Vargas
Master's degrees: Universidad Central de Venezuela, University of Salamanca
Doctoral candidate: Nebrija University
Teaching Fields: Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spanish and Spanish for the Professions
Special Interests: Medical interpretation, Latin culture, Spanglish in the U.S.