Skip to main content

BC Students Recognized for Excellence in History and Political Science

Friday, May 17, 2019

Graphic of college seal with the words Student Awards for Excellence

Bridgewater College students Madeline S. Carlson, Syrga Kanatbek kyzy, Jonathan A. McDaniel, Luke C. Morgan, Jacob K. Talley and Jennifer L. Weakland were recognized for excellence by the department of history and political science during the college awards ceremony.

Carlson and McDaniel received the Daniel W. Bly–Lamar B. Neal History and Political Science awards. Named for former Bridgewater College professors Daniel W. Bly, assistant professor of history emeritus, and Lamar B. Neal, associate professor of political science and history emeritus, the awards recognize outstanding performance by graduating seniors.

Carlson, political science major, is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Mark Carlson of Clayton, Del. Carlson is a member of the Philomathes Society, Bridgewater’s scholastic honor society, and is president of the Pre-law Society. She serves as vice-president of Bridgewater’s chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, a national political science honor society, and as secretary of the campus chapter of Alpha Chi, a national scholastic honor society.

McDaniel, a history and political science major with a minor in English, is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Sean McDaniel of Lorton, Va. McDaniel is a member of Pi Sigma Alpha and Phi Alpha Theta, a national history honor society. He is a member of the college’s Flory Honors Program.

Kanatbek kyzy received the Michael Robert “M.R.” Zigler Service Award. The award is presented for exceptional off-campus community service. It is named for an outstanding Brethren peace advocate, ecumenist and humanitarian from the BC class of 1916.

Kanatbek kyzy, a senior global studies major with a minor in economics, is from Kyrgyzstan. She is a member of Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership honor society.

During the summer of 2018, Kanatbek kyzy served as an assistant of counselor at the Embassy of the Kyrgyz Republic to the U.S. and Canada. She also was a field operations and programs intern for the American Councils for International Education. During the summer of 2017, she was an international development intern with the U.S. Agency for International Development in Kyrgyzstan. During the summer of 2015, Kanatbek kyzy served as a camp volunteer with the Peace Corps in Kyrgyzstan.

Morgan and Weakland each received a $1,130 Dr. David K. McQuilkin Endowed Scholarship for the 2019-’20 academic year. The award recognizes rising seniors in the department who have demonstrated a high level of intellectual, scholarly and academic proficiency in history, political science and/or global studies.

Morgan, a political science major and business administration minor, is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Phillip Morgan of Churchville, Va. Morgan is a member of the Philomathes Society, Alpha Chi and Pi Sigma Alpha. He also is a member of the college’s Flory Honors Program.

Weakland, a global studies major with minors in French and communication studies, is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Michael Weakland of Glen Allen, Va. Weakland is a member of the college’s Flory Honors Program.

Talley received the $1,900 John W. Wayland Scholarship in Public History for the 2019-’20 academic year. The award recognizes a rising senior pursing a degree in history, public history or teacher education who demonstrates high academic proficiency and the potential for a career in public-facing history.

Talley, a history and political science major with a minor in coaching, is the son of Jerry and Sue Talley of Mineral, Va. Talley is a member of Phi Alpha Theta.

Following graduation on May 4, Carlson will pursue a juris doctor at Widener University’s Delaware Law School in Wilmington, Del. Kanatbek kyzy will pursue an M.A. in sustainable international development and an M.S. in global health policy and management at Brandeis University in Waltham, Mass.

Questions? Contact us!

Jessica Luck
Editor & Director of Media Relations
Office: 540-828-5720
Mobile: 573-529-3862

Mary Kay Heatwole
Media Relations Assistant
Office: 540-828-5486

Abbie Parkhurst
Associate Vice President for Marketing & Communications/College Spokeswoman
Office: 540-828-5782
Mobile: 540-294-1441