Bridgewater College Students Recognized for Excellence in History and Political Science

A white and red graphic that has the Bridgewater College seal and reads "College Awards: Honoring Outstanding Students"

Bridgewater College students Meghann Burgess ’23, Benjamin Chatterton ’22Katelyn Harrison ’23, Charles Price ’22 and Destiny Shoemaker ’22 were recognized for excellence by the department of history and political science for 2022.

Chatterton, Price and Shoemaker received the Daniel W. Bly-Lamar B. Neal History and Political Science awards. Named for former Bridgewater College professors Daniel W. Bly, assistant professor of history, emeritus, and Lamar B. Neal, associate professor of political science and history, emeritus, the awards recognize outstanding performance by graduating seniors.

Chatterton is a history and political science major from Waynesboro, Va. He is a member of Phi Alpha Theta history honor society, Sigma Beta Delta business honor society, Alpha Chi physics honor society and the Philomathes Society, a society that encourages scholarship and recognizes BC students, faculty and alumni who have achieved unusual distinction in the pursuit of knowledge. In addition, he is a member of the Flory Honors Program at BC. During his time at BC, Chatterton completed a research project funded by The Research Experience @ Bridgewater (TREB), “The Ansons: A Virginia Household’s Relationship with the British Empire.”

After graduation, Chatterton plans to pursue a master’s degree in education.

Price, a history and political science major from Shenandoah, Va., is a member of Phi Alpha Theta, as well as the Bridgewater Dungeons and Dragons Club, Games Club, Rugby Club and E-Sports Club. In addition, Price is involved in the Brethren Student Movement and Campus Crusade for Christ (Cru). 

After graduation, Price plans to pursue a master’s degree in history.

Shoemaker is a history and political science major from Broadway, Va. She is a member of Phi Alpha Theta, Alpha Chi and Bridgewater College Educators Rising. She is also a guest relations associate for campus events.

After graduation, Shoemaker will work in Rockingham County as a sixth-grade U.S. history teacher at Montevideo Middle School.

Burgess, a history major from Stephens City, Va., is the 2022 recipient of the John W. Wayland Scholarship in public history in the amount of $2,500 for the 2022-23 academic year. The award recognizes a rising senior pursuing a degree in history, public history or teacher education who demonstrates high academic proficiency and the potential for a career in public-facing history.

Burgess is a member of Phi Alpha Theta and BC Allies. During her time at BC, she completed an internship with Special Collections Librarian Stephanie S. Gardner during Fall 2021 during which she helped to curate the “Getting the Band Back Together” exhibition on the historic BC marching band.

After graduation, Burgess plans to pursue a master’s of library and information science to eventually become an archivist or librarian.

Harrison received a $2,100 Dr. David K. McQuilkin Endowed Scholarship. The award recognizes rising seniors in the department who have demonstrated a high level of intellectual, scholarly and academic proficiency in history, political science and/or global studies. It is named after Dr. David K. McQuilkin, professor of history and political science, emeritus, who taught at BC from 1985 to 2009.

Harrison, a history and political science major from Point of Rocks, Md., is an academic coach, tutor, and writer and editor for BC Voice, a student-run news organization on campus. She is also a SOAR mentor, a member of the Flory Honors Program, Pre-Law Society, Phi Alpha Theta and Sigma Tau Delta English society.

After graduation, Harrison plans to attend law school.

Media Contact:
Logan Bogert
Communications Coordinator
(540) 828-5486