Skip to main content
Academic Divisions at BC Class engaging together outside

Opportunities to Stretch Your World

Academic Divisions

Based on your choice of major, you’ll be part of one of Bridgewater College’s four academic divisions. Our divisions are structured to allow you to make the most of your college experience—delving deeply into your program of study while also benefitting from the other departments in your division, where you’ll dabble in other areas of interest and combine various classes and resources to meet your educational goals.

Division of Communication Studies, Fine Arts and Literature

  • Department of Art
  • Department of Communication Studies and Theatre
  • Department of English
  • Department of Music

Division Head: Dr. Jeff Pierson

Division of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Department of History and Political Science
  • Department of Philosophy and Religion
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of World Languages and Cultures

Division Head: Dr. Harriett Hayes

Division of Natural Sciences

  • Department of Biology
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Psychology

Division Head: Dr. Phil Spickler

Division of Professional Studies

  • Department of Economics and Business Administration
  • Department of Health and Human Sciences
  • Teacher Education Program

Division Head: Dr. Barbara Long

Check out the links on the left to learn more about our academic departments and programs of study.